Buzzing Pump

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Please be gentle I am new at this and start from a point of knowing nothing !

A little while ago what seems to be the pump started buzzing quite loudly, it didn't seem to affect either the hot water or heating. If we switched the whole system off then back on it stopped the buzz, only for it to come back later. An engineer came and replaced the timer suggesting it was something to do with the connections from that to the system.

This seemed to have cured the problem and we had a nice smart new timer unit. :)

I am sure no one is suprised to learn that the buzzing has started up again, it still doesn't seem to affect the water or the heating.

Today is Sunday and earliest we can get an engineer is Friday, the problem is we leave for 10 days holiday early Tuesday morning.

I know it's all a bit vague but does anyone have any thoughts on either switching the whole system off and risking a freeze while we are away or leaving it on with a mysterious intermittant buzz ?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Leave for ten days and enjoy your holiday, if your heating is working now it will be working when you come home, the weather here is not that extreme that you need to worry about your system, maybe when you come back you might need to have your pump investigated, no big deal...Get outta here you big Daffy bastard.. :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:

I'm not a plumber but I know we've not had weather cold enough to freeze pipes since 1962 (in November).

I wonder if the noise is the pump impeller sticking? That will give a sort of hum.

Sponsored Links
Bamber gaspipe said:
What`s your take on it Lynda?

Anyone can post a reply / comment / opinion in any forum.

It is up to the OP if they wish to take / heed the advice / opinion / comment that is posted

moderator said:
Bamber gaspipe said:
What`s your take on it Lynda?

Anyone can post a reply / comment / opinion in any forum.