Buzzing RCD Socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey all,

I've recently moved into a new home & in the spare room downstairs, which used to be the garage, there's a double pole rcd socket like this:

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/CM4901.html

I've never used it before, but i pressed one of the buttons by mistake & it started buzzing. I tried the reset button & it wouldn't stop. I had to knock the electric off, take off the socket & cover the wires in insullation tape till i get it sorted: Two things i need advice on please:

1) Why would it buzz? Faulty socket maybe?

2) There was actually 2 sets of wires connected into the back of the socket, 2 off each live, earth & neutral. Is this normal?

Many thanks

Sponsored Links
sounds like you pressed the trip/ off button but it has not tripped off properly
Maybe just has not been used or tested for some time or just faulty

Sometimes the cold and damp can affect the electronics within.

sounds like you pressed the trip/ off button but it has not tripped off properly
Maybe just has not been used or tested for some time or just faulty

Sometimes the cold and damp can affect the electronics within.

Thanks for the quick reply mate. I'll get a new one & replace it.

Any idea why there would be 2 sets of wires in the socket?

Any idea why there would be 2 sets of wires in the socket?

It could be on a ring circuit which is as it says, starts at the breaker and goes round a few sockets then returns to the breaker , thus two wires in each, when parted both wires are live and all sockets will still work

or a radial which is one in and one out to the next socket,
with this other sockets stop when wires are apart , still two wires though.
If they were joined before ensure you rejoin them again

Sponsored Links
1) Why would it buzz? Faulty socket maybe?