Bypass circuit... solid fuel stove... thermal store...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.
I am soon to install a Specflue / DPS heatbank thermal store heated by both a solid fuel stove and a gas boiler. I'm not a pro, just a DIYer with ideas bigger than his budget....!

One of the safety features pre-installed onto the thermal store is an overheat stat which fires the central heating pump to dissipate excess store heat if the temperature reaches 90 deg.

I am also intending to install the Honeywell evohome system with wireless programmable TRVs on all rads.

My problem is that I don't really want to have a rad without any TRV on it - which would be the standard approach to having a 'heat dump' from the store in order for this overheat circuit to work....

I'm presuming that under normal circumstances (ie no solid fuel stove) I wouldn't need to fit an auto bypass valve, as the evohome would tell my heating pump to stop pumping when all rads TRVs are up to temp (is that correct????).

As a solution to the overheat circuit / heat dump problem, I'm considering fitting an auto bypass valve.... I'm debating whether I should try to use it to effectively bypass one of the rad TRVs (using an extra pipe into one of my rads), or to just bypass directly onto the rad circuit return pipe...?? Has anyone got any thoughts on either of these options? - Bearing in mind that my objective is to dump heat.

On the '3rd pipe into a rad' idea, is there a fitting that exists for this? I'm picturing a long rad tail with a 'T' between the TRV and the rad for my bypass circuit - or alternatively just piping via an additional lockshield into the top above the TRV. Am I in cloud cookoo land, or are these viable options???

Any help, assistance, or comments would be welcomed - even if it just to tell me I'm an idiot and my plans are ridiculous...

Many thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links