Can anyone help with CH confusion!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
First off, I'm a complete noob when it comes to this sort of thing, so please bear with me :confused:

We just moved into our new house which has a combi system for the CH and DHW. Our last place had white meter heating and thermostatically controlled water tank... it was much simpler.

All our radiators have control valves on them except the one in the hall, in the hall there's a Siemens thermostat and to top it all off, the boiler has a "Heating Temp" dial on it as well!!

I don't know what sort of system it is, but I can tell you that we have a Glow worm SwiftFlow 125 boiler which takes the mains in and feeds it out to the taps. There are no visible water tanks at all.

My question is how do I efficiently control the temperature, I mean, where should I set the room temp? At the radiators or with the Thermostat in the hall? And what on earth is the temp control on the boiler for, there's nothing in the manual? My biggest concern is that with all these temperature controls I could be making the boiler fire up more often than needed or vice-versa (probably not though as the house is lovely and warm)

Any pointers on how best to control this sort of set up would be mucho appreciated. Thanks. :)

Sponsored Links
each radiator you have has a trv (Themostatic Radiator Valve) this governs the maximum temperature of each raditor (acording to the air around the trv)

the temp control on your boiler sets the maximum temp the rads can get too

The room stat you have then decides if the house is hot enough and turns off the boiler.

in theory:

house cold boiler comes on, heats water and pumps to rads, each rad warms room, when room warm trv closes rad.

when house warm (by room stat) it tells boiler to close down) one rad must have no trv (hall in your case)

if you use one room less often turn its trv down.

if house is a little too hot turn room stat down

if rads very very hot turn boiler stat down.