1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Can I replace a pop-up waste with click clack (push button)?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by MuppetThumper, 21 May 2015.

1. MuppetThumper

MuppetThumper

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Hi folks,
    DIY noob here. I'm pretty sure its possible to do a straight swap between pop-up and push button basin wastes but wanted to check. Of course the basin is plumbed in (pedestal) so I'm assuming it might be a fiddle with access (and for this reason I might get a professional in as I don't want any leaks!) but before I order a tap just wanted to make sure my basic assumptions were correct!

I currently have a tap with integral pop-up waste system but the taps I am considering to replace it with don't use pop-up. My preference is to go push button as it seems simpler and less prone to problems.

thanks in advance
    Andrew

2. Sponsored Links
  3. Madrab

Madrab

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Click clack wastes have their own problems of course if the mechanism fails. Nothing beats an old manual plug :)

As long as the waste you are installing is sized correctly to the basin outlet and whether it needs to be slotted or not, then swapping is pretty straightforward.

• Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Yes that will be fine. A good move in fact as pop ups are rubbish

5. MuppetThumper

MuppetThumper

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    thanks chaps

6. MuppetThumper

MuppetThumper

Thanks Received:
    United Kingdom
    Had a closer look at the sink and it looks like access to replace the waste will be very tricky... the pedestal is sealed in partially (as is the sink), do you still think it's a doable job to be able to get round the back and replace the pop-up waste without ripping up the surround?