1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Can I rewire a Swiss 3-pin plug to UK plug?

Discussion in 'Electrics Outside of the UK' started by pmh37, 17 Feb 2008.

  1. pmh37

    pmh37

    Joined:
    17 Feb 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dundee
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have brought a raclette machine back to the UK from Switzerland. It is wired with a moulded Swiss 3-pin plug, and rated at 6A 1200W.

    I would normally just use a 'universal adaptor' for it, but the power and current it requires is more than such adaptors allow. Indeed, we have already blown one of them with a similarly powered hairdryer.

    So my question is, can I just chop the moulded plug off and rewire it to a UK plug with a 6A fuse? As the machine is just a glorified heating element, I suspect that this should be possible, but the manual that comes with the machine gives dire warnings about not tampering with the power cable. Is that just a company covering its back, or is there something profoundly different to such a Swiss plug that I should be careful with?

    Thank you very much for your help!
     
  2. plugwash

    plugwash

    Joined:
    28 Mar 2004
    Messages:
    9,244
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    almost certainly just a manufacturer covering it's arse.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. xerxes

    xerxes

    Joined:
    13 Jan 2006
    Messages:
    977
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bristol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure you'll be able to get a 6 amp fuse for a plug top, but TLC supply 7 amp fuses, apparently. Otherwise you'll have to go for the more commonly available 10 amp.
     
  5. solair

    solair

    Joined:
    22 Jan 2007
    Messages:
    93
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Normally, Swiss circuits are rated 16amps.
    There is no fuse in the plug, that's just the maximum load that it can carry.

    If you fit a plug with a 13amp fuse it will give roughly the same level of protection as the swiss plug connected to a swiss 16A circuit.
     
  6. Sponsored Links
  7. breezer

    breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,324
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    solair, i hate to point out the obvious, but i bet the op has long since done it by now, they only asked in February. (only made the one post, never to be heard of again, not even a thanks) may i suggest you check the date a post was made before you reply
     
  8. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page