1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Can I wire my Nest thermostat to the Heat Link?

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by fatboyhouston, 30 Jan 2020.

  1. fatboyhouston

    fatboyhouston

    Joined:
    17 Mar 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought Nest Gen 2 a few years ago. Didn’t realise the thermostat connects to heat link via mesh, and so they have to be close. Our boiler is upstairs, but for obvious reasons the thermostat has to be downstairs.

    Many times we’ve woken up to a cold house because the thermostat lost connection to the Heat Link. I am heartily sick of getting up in the cold to fiddle with the thermostat while wishing I had a simple wired thermostat that just works.

    No doubt there are reasons why the connection keeps dropping - too much distance from the heat link, or maybe other devices interfering. But I’m not about to change everything else to accommodate a needy thermostat.

    Is it possible to hard-wire a G2 nest thermostat to the heat link, and would that be the end of my connection problems? Otherwise this is going on ebay and I’m getting an old fashioned thermostat that works 100% of the time.

    Thanks in advance for any advice!
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Thanks Received:
    195
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, you can hard wire a nest to the heat link. That addresses the connection problems.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,074
    Thanks Received:
    6,488
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No you cant
     
  5. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,074
    Thanks Received:
    6,488
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You cant hard wire the thermostat to the heat link, try using good quality Alkaline batteries, if you are still having problems you will have to move the heatlink if you dont want to move the thermostat, the thermostat being downstairs and the heatlink upstairs should not be a problem
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Thanks Received:
    195
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can. Mine is. The 12v feed from the heat link to the nest also does the comms and allows you to split the nest and the heatlink by more than 30m.
     
  7. Sponsored Links
  8. muggles

    muggles

    Joined:
    28 Oct 2005
    Messages:
    11,976
    Thanks Received:
    2,541
    Location:
    Daventry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes you can, that's what the T1 & T2 terminals are for
     
  9. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,074
    Thanks Received:
    6,488
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No they are not, T1 & T2 are the 12v supply to power the thermostat, they do not switch anything
     
  10. Lower

    Lower

    Joined:
    22 Dec 2005
    Messages:
    1,549
    Thanks Received:
    195
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 12v T1 & T2 connections are also used for coms.
     
  11. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    17,074
    Thanks Received:
    6,488
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I stand corrected I never knew that, thank you
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Paulj48

    Paulj48

    Joined:
    7 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    341
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Screenshot_20200130_144411.jpg
    You can tell in the app if your using wireless or wired or both (mines a bit iffy on the wireless)
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  13. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page