CCTV in new build advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, I'm completely new to CCTV and I'm building my own house. I want to install CCTV and really want the cameras installed in the soffits. As its a house the soffits are quite high, about 4m's. My worry is that the cameras won't be good enough to capture detailed pictures, especially at night, and the cameras will be installed to high to pick out any intruders face.

I'm thinking about this system http://www.alertelectrical.com/prod/5053/esp-digiview-prod-networkable-cctv-systems, I believe it has an app that I can monitor using my phone and iPad so I can install in a cupboard out of the way.

Any advice, guidance on location, cameras, recorders is greatly appreciated.

Regards

Newbie Neil

Sponsored Links
No.first floor level to get a better angle for faces, put a cat 5 and a good quality cctv coax this will cover all future cctv eg IP or hd-sdi cameras, don't try to cover large areas with one camera as faces will not be visible ..most cctv sytems come with app now, don't buy cheap Chinese ebay specials as there will be no back to this product... Can recommend samsung or hikvision at the cheaper end.

Thanks, think it's going to have to be soffit mounted as other cameras will look unsightly. Will it be worth it?

I can mount on my detached garage Soffit but the cable run will be very long and be very close to the eclectic feed to the garage. Would this be a problem?

Cheers

Just think about it, camera too high up, catch face views, no.

Always go with the manufacturers recommendations for the mounting heights, they know best.

Sponsored Links
Just think about it, camera too high up, catch face views, no.

Always go with the manufacturers recommendations for the mounting heights, they know best.

I don't have a clue, that's why I'm asking!
I suggest you get someone in then.

By the way a cure for the possible interference from the mains cable is a device called a Humbug.

>>>