Which CCTV cable?

Joined
30 Oct 2005
Messages
3,203
Reaction score
479
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
Hi peeps, I'm building a house. We're at the stage where the roof will be on and watertight by early March and the windows and doors shortly after.

Before the roof is on and the front is rendered I'd like to run cables along the cavities to 4 points where cameras will eventually be. Namely front door, front garage, side garage and back garden. I'll need them to run to the study upstairs where the monitor and DVR will be.

Could someone direct me to any websites where I can purchase the cable. I haven't a clue what type of cameras will be attached, I'm hoping these cables are universal but I know nothing about CCTV. Do the cables come with a power cable combined or will I need to run power alongside each cctv cable?

Thanks in advance.

PS Any CCTV/Alarm people in Birmingahm want their fascias/soffits/gutter done or a flat roof then we can come to some sort of deal as i'll be needing cameras installing.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
12 Dec 2010
Messages
2,769
Reaction score
193
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
As you haven't chosen camera's yet, just run Cat5 to each point.
Suitable for both analogue and IP cams.
If analogue you just need a multi balun at DVR location and singles for cameras.
You can run the power down 2 pair and the signal down another.
If you go IP, then go for PoE variants.
 
Joined
1 Jun 2004
Messages
2,122
Reaction score
105
Location
Lancashire
Country
United Kingdom
alumni";p="1891704 said:
As you haven't chosen camera's yet, just run Cat5 to each point.
Suitable for both analogue and IP cams.
If analogue you just need a multi balun at DVR location and singles for cameras.
You can run the power down 2 pair and the signal down another.
Very interesting. Would you recommend something like this
http://www.jmcsecurity.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=BA194
http://www.jmcsecurity.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=BARJ45

So you plug the single one into the back of the camera, cat 5 to the 4 way and then bnc to bnc patch cables? Is that it? Do you use a standalone psu ? Do you have any suggestions for dvrs? I have used one before and gave up as it had a terrible user interface. What I want is a gui that gives you a library of all the clips.
 
Joined
30 Oct 2005
Messages
3,203
Reaction score
479
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
As you haven't chosen camera's yet, just run Cat5 to each point.
Suitable for both analogue and IP cams.
If analogue you just need a multi balun at DVR location and singles for cameras.
You can run the power down 2 pair and the signal down another.
If you go IP, then go for PoE variants.

Thanks for the advice although I don't know the difference between analogue or IP. I'd probably be spending around £300 per camera and want something pretty decent.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
12 Dec 2010
Messages
2,769
Reaction score
193
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
Very interesting. Would you recommend something like this
http://www.jmcsecurity.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=BA194
http://www.jmcsecurity.co.uk/proddetail.asp?prod=BARJ45

So you plug the single one into the back of the camera, cat 5 to the 4 way and then bnc to bnc patch cables? Is that it? Do you use a standalone psu ? Do you have any suggestions for dvrs? I have used one before and gave up as it had a terrible user interface. What I want is a gui that gives you a library of all the clips.
Thats it, you got the hang of it.
PSU suitably located near DVR, go for a multiway and just put the 2 pairs from each cat5 to an O/P each.

There is a wide variety of DVRs to choose from. Thumbnails of recordings should not be the deciding factor! Reliability, Quality of recordings etc should be the key requirements.

So, you find one with thumbnails, great, unfortunately with p**s poor playback and recording it is neither use nor ornament.

Avtech seem to be popular on here but i do like the Samsungs.
 
Joined
12 Dec 2010
Messages
2,769
Reaction score
193
Location
Yorkshire
Country
United Kingdom
As you haven't chosen camera's yet, just run Cat5 to each point.
Suitable for both analogue and IP cams.
If analogue you just need a multi balun at DVR location and singles for cameras.
You can run the power down 2 pair and the signal down another.
If you go IP, then go for PoE variants.

Thanks for the advice although I don't know the difference between analogue or IP. I'd probably be spending around £300 per camera and want something pretty decent.
Well, at that price bracket you are into the IP range. With megapixel you will really see the difference.
 
Joined
8 Feb 2011
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
As you haven't chosen camera's yet, just run Cat5 to each point.
Suitable for both analogue and IP cams.
If analogue you just need a multi balun at DVR location and singles for cameras.
You can run the power down 2 pair and the signal down another.
If you go IP, then go for PoE variants.

Thanks for the advice although I don't know the difference between analogue or IP. I'd probably be spending around £300 per camera and want something pretty decent.
Well, at that price bracket you are into the IP range. With megapixel you will really see the difference.

yes you can start to get IP range of cameras however the NVR will kill you, a nice DVR with 600line cameras would do, you dont need to over kill everything.

im in south birmingham, i can supply most equipment including the new bluray dvrs soon but who'll want one of those???

is there an email facility on here for the OP to mail me? as you can see i have only signed up today, newbie to this forum design
 
Joined
30 Oct 2005
Messages
3,203
Reaction score
479
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
Hi ian, Moderators don't like people getting work from this site. If you Google my username and you can contact me through my website.
 
Joined
8 Feb 2011
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Location
Birmingham
Country
United Kingdom
Hi ian, Moderators don't like people getting work from this site. If you Google my username and you can contact me through my website.

oooh, i didnt know, however, i can offer good support on the phone to the products i know and a hand if needed, i'm not too well you see, holding down 2 jobs is killing me, however enought of my personal problems :)
 
Joined
27 Dec 2010
Messages
413
Reaction score
61
Location
Devon
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. A bit late to this, but nm.

Agree with the cat5 run. I've done exactly this on a new build last year.

PoE good if you can get it, but good quality cameras in the £300 range with poe inbuilt are few and far, although you may be lucky with the Panasonics - that price might get you a weatherproof panasonic ip with poe and pan/tilt. Axis are the best cameras, but very expensive - although a 207mw would give you megapixel it doesn't have poe or weatherproofing.

But - poe can be added. Linksys and others do PoE splitters which take the 48v supplied by poe and produce 5 or 12v at the camera (I think all ip cams I have are 5v). This of course allows you to broaden your horizons a lot.

(Note: I've found out this winter after 5 years of using them that they don't cope well with extreme cold. Had four splitters and one Axis 206 that just stopped working after really cold nights! Their rated operating temp is +5c and we got down to -15 a few nights with heavy condensation, I think that did it.)

You can also go without weatherproofing if you can tuck the camera far enough into the eaves that it'll stay dry.

You don't need automatic irises in my experience, unless you're likely to have sun pointing directly into the lens - and I position my cameras so they're not pointing into the sky. And even then, I've never had one go weird from the sun.

Sorry, rambling. But a fascinating subject and one I've done a lot of work with - and made many mistakes!
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top