1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

CCTV Power Wiring in new build loft

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by talksr, 31 May 2018.

  1. talksr

    talksr

    Joined:
    14 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi there,

    Someone else on this forum had very sensibly suggested that housing a DVR in the loft and then running the camera cables down from the roof behind the guttering is quite an easy and neat way of putting some CCTV cameras on the side of the house.

    My house is complete now and I got to view it this week. Sadly, my telescopic ladder did not arrive in time, so I couldn't get into the loft, but the builders tell me there are no power sockets in there.

    On the consumer unit, there is a breaker with the label: MVHR + TV.
    The MVHR stands for heat recovery system and TV stands for the TV booster box so it looks like there must be some form of power up there, just not an actual plug socket.

    Does anyone else have similar and if so, have you managed to tap off of this supply to provide a single plug point for something like a DVR? Would be great if anyone has any advice on this.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. mark2707

    mark2707

    Joined:
    31 May 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi mate. usually the tv booster in the loft is plugged into a socket. this will be more than adequate to supply power. as its only low voltage. you may need an extension brick. hope this helps
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    7,501
    Thanks Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Depends on mcb size ( wire in a trailing socket if it a spur ) the Dvr and power supply take next to nothing
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. SandyLyon

    SandyLyon

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    616
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    When I did my daughters system in the loft, I needed 3 sockets, 1 for the DVR, 1 for the 9 way power supply for the cameras and twin cooling fans on the safe box and 1 for the TV distribution amp.
    I also put a fused spur off the ring to fit some lighting in the loft.
    Depending on what CCTV system you are going with you may not need the power supply, some systems use POC or POE where the cameras get their power direct from the DVR / NVR.
    I used external grade cat5e cable with RJ45 baluns at both ends, one cable carries video and power and works very well.
     
    Last edited: 1 Jun 2018
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. Sally2000

    Sally2000

    Joined:
    6 Feb 2013
    Messages:
    332
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bear in mind that it gets very hot in the loft in summer. Your dvr may not like the heat.
    I rigged a computer type fan on top of the dvr with a thermostat to switch it on above 20 degrees.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. SandyLyon

    SandyLyon

    Joined:
    21 Oct 2012
    Messages:
    616
    Thanks Received:
    137
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On the data sheet for the Hikvision DS-72xxHUHI-K1 series it lists the working temperature range as -10 deg C to +55 deg C. I used a DVR lockable safe box with twin cooling fans so far it’s never missed a beat.
    The thermostat is a pretty neat idea, l might look into that as the fans probably aren’t needed for most of the year.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. talksr

    talksr

    Joined:
    14 Oct 2015
    Messages:
    148
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok perfect, I doubt I will use much. Was thinking of using an Axis DVR which has its own POE 8 port switch built in, so would just need the one socket.

    Is that something I could do myself? They are quite strict on making changes to the wiring in new builds. Apparently, if it is anything half involved, you need to get a qualified electrician in and a certificate of what they have done. I am very competent with wiring, as long as I know what needs to be done.

    I don't think I will need too much, but interesting that you also put lights in. There is a light switch on the landing which says loft, so I am assuming the loft has some sort of light, but not able to gain access so unsure.

    Good point. The one I am getting is only a small low power one so it should be ok. I have one at work in one of our data cabs where it is permanently hot all year round and it has survived two years so far.

    Thanks everyone for your input and help on this. Really appreciate it.
     
  9. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  10. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page