central heating pump problem ?

the pump was neraly 30 years old and was at fault and needed replacing but as with quite alot of systems there is quite often an additional fault compounding the problem. By trade i am a builder and lets hope if you have a problem with building or structure you dont get a reply like i did.

I am not an idiot and i am a competent person with knowledge of heating sytsems and i am on this forum in the hope someone else has had a similar problem to me and in that way will be able to help.

I thank all those who have tried and i will now attempt the direct power up to the pump and possibly take out the wall stat by linking the feed wires. I think that theres a possibility its also the mot valve playing up and not opening and its a tad late in the day to call someone out , not without taking out another mortgage to pay for it , so I will contact the guy i use for my heating installations in the light of day.

Again thanks to all who tried to help

Sponsored Links
the pump was neraly 30 years old and was at fault and needed replacing but as with quite alot of systems there is quite often an additional fault compounding the problem

Now that is a wild statement :eek:

I have power to the boiler, power to the seperate wall timer/programmer for which water and heating are set to constant, I have power to the wall stat but seems to be no power to the live of the pump

or is it. Have you checked or are you assuming?

no when i call for heat from the wall stat by turning it up absolutely nothing happens , the boiler dosnt fire up, the pump dosnt start and the mot valve appears also to do nothing

You wrote
I am not an idiot and i am a competent person with knowledge of heating sytsems

To change a pump just because it does not run is not a sign of being competent. To also replace bacuse the pump is old mean zilch. Have system much older than that powered by pumps made in days when Adam was a small boy :)