Central Heatng not working after Summer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

This is my first post on here and i appologise in advance for repeating someone's elses problem thats already been answered but i have looked on the search.

In feburary i was decorating my ground-floor and decided to change my thermostate from the old 1970's dial style to a modern digital style. I installed a SUNVIC TLX7501 and just did a wire for wire swap. After this the heating did not work but I thought very little of it as it was spring and I wasnt using it for summer and thought I would rewire it when I needed it. well guess what. its november now and its freezing!!!!

Two weeks ago I turned the HONEYWELL DIGITAL TIMER ST6300A on for both hotwater and heating (i have used my imersion heater over the summer) and my hotwater works fine, the boiler kicks in when required and its perfect. But my heating does not work. So i studied the circuit diagram and wired it as it showed to the best of my knowlegde (i had 1 blue wire, 1 red(with240 on it) and 1 yellow) i wired it so that the red and yellow short when the thermostate is activeated.

This still made no differnce and the heating still wouldnt work. now strangly enough my upstairs radiators work but i presume this is some bleed off from the hotwater, please correct me if i am wrong. I have opened the valves on all the radiators before someones asks.

Tonight i have completly bi-passed the termostate and hardwired the red (240v) and the yellow (switch) together and then studied the circuit printed on the back of my DIGITAL TIMER (HONEYWELL AS ABOVE). i then connected the wires so that the Central heating will be on. i beleive now that i have ruled out both the thermostate and the timer by doing this. please tell me if i am wrong.