CH Timed vs Constant

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'd like to get a few expert opinions as to the best way to run a central heating system, mainly concerning condensing boilers.

I had my Worcester 24i junior on timed and the boiler stat set to max in order to heat the rooms accordingly, I have a room stat set to 20 degrees and noticed the rooms would sometimes feel cold.

Someone suggested that lowering the boiler stat to about 5 and leaving it on constant would keep the house warmer (which it does) and would save gas as the boiler isn't having to work as hard to maintain the heat in the house.

I wonder if anyone has any experiences simalar or any comments.

Thanks

Sponsored Links
It won't save gas. Gas used (= heat input required) depends on the heat lost, which is dependent on temperature difference between inside and out x number of hours you want to keep the house warm.

More hours of warmth = more cost.

If you find that the walls (in particular) are thick, cold and uninsuklated, and take a long time to warm up, that is a different problem.

You say you have the boiler set to max. On a cold day, does it run continuously this suggests the boiler is undersized for your house.

Do you have TRVs, or some other way of preventing the best-heated rooms getting warmer and warmer while the cooler rooms still need heat?

How much insulation do you have in the roof and walls?

Thanks John

JohnD said:
If you find that the walls (in particular) are thick, cold and uninsuklated, and take a long time to warm up, that is a different problem.

Yes the hallway (which is where the Room stat is located) is very cold as are the walls. Is the different problem you refer to heat escaping?

JohnD said:
You say you have the boiler set to max. On a cold day, does it run continuously this suggests the boiler is undersized for your house.

The boiler doesn't run on constantly, but it does switch on and off a lot.

JohnD said: