Changing cylinder thermostat help!?!?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a novice with regards to central heating systems but have managed to change like for like parts on my system in the past..... However, I'm a little stuck with my latest task. I'm looking to replace my cyclinder thermostat which is a Drayton HTS3 for an electronic dual cylinder thermostat. (Model DDS1). I was hoping it would be a like for like with regards to the wiring......
My current Drayton has just 3 connections being live, neutral and common.
When I wire into the new DDS1 thermostat with the same 3 wires being live, neutral and common I have a problem. Basically it seems to constantly call for heating from the boiler and will not switch off.... I don't know how to make it only call for heat when requested from the timer.
I'm not sure if this thermostat is compatible or if it is simply my lack of knowledge now showing and I'm missing something obvious.
(The new thermostat has extra ports being NC and NO which the Drayton does not)
To help further, my current heating setup consists of a 3-port valve, and a tado smart room thermostat and hot water timer downstairs.
Any help would be massively appreciated. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
My current Drayton has just 3 connections being live, neutral and common.

More accurately common, call & satisfied.

I'm not familiar with your new stat but hopefully others with more knowledge than me are ............................

As above, you do not have a neutral at your old stat; you have 3 live wires, and the stat connects com to either no or nc (normally open / normally closed), depending on whether the cylinder is cold or hot.

Your new stat requires these connections, and also requires a permanent live and neutral. So you will either need to run an extra cable, or replace the existing cable with (at least) 6 core (l,n,com,no,nc,earth) flex.

The Drayton HTS3 wiring connections are as below:

1.JPG