1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Changing roomstat from potterton pr2 to salus rt 500 rof

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Rdl, 1 May 2013.

  1. Rdl

    Rdl

    Joined:
    1 May 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could anyone help with the wiring between these units on a potterton suprima 40 system?
    pr2 wiring as follows red to com yellow to H and blue to N with a link wire (Brown) from com to TL.
    Where would they go on the salus?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    33,155
    Thanks Received:
    3,606
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Terminate the blue wire in a connector block and position safely out of the way.
    It is not required for this thermostat.

    Red to L
    Yellow to SL
    Green and yellow to earth (symbol).

    See page 5 of the instructions.
     
  4. Rdl

    Rdl

    Joined:
    1 May 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The guy at the tech dept at Salus mentioned removing a link at the boiler,but couldnt comment on my wiring, this must be the Neutral? Wouldnt fancy blowing the board.
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    33,155
    Thanks Received:
    3,606
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    33,155
    Thanks Received:
    3,606
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    43,839
    Thanks Received:
    2,770
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you by any chance have the "separate schematic for internals" (of the valve)? I find it a little difficult to understand:
    As far as I can see, the situation with 230V on grey (only) only arises when neither CH or HW are calling for heat - in which case I don't see why (let alone how) one would want any voltage (5-150V or otherwise) on the orange wire (which feeds the pump and bolier). I guess that,as so often, I'm missing something!
    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    33,155
    Thanks Received:
    3,606
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    43,839
    Thanks Received:
    2,770
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many thanks (and, no, I don't think one can post pictures,or even use symbols, in PMs) - that's very helpful. It looks as if the material in your link will answer my question when I've studied it properly - and that the switchery is a little more complicated than I had been expecting!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    33,155
    Thanks Received:
    3,606
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It appears that this new thermostat may be a wireless one and the wrong model came up when I googled.

    If so, then more involved wiring will be needed.

    I have pm'ed the OP.
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    33,155
    Thanks Received:
    3,606
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    It is. I'm sorry for the error.

    Right, the receiver should be fitted near the wiring centre which is normally near the boiler.
    Do you have such a box of wiring?

    It (the receiver) will require a 240V supply with Live, Neutral and Earth connected to L,N & E.
    You will have to intercept the cable that runs to the present thermostat and connect these to the Com & NO (normally open - switched live) terminals.

    So, if you intercept the present thermostat cable you can connect the wires thus -

    Red to L
    Blue to N
    Yellow to NO
    Earth to Earth
    Plus a link wire from L to Com.

    The remainder of the thermostat wire is no longer required as the new thermostat (sender) can be placed at any suitable position.
     
  13. Rdl

    Rdl

    Joined:
    1 May 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wiring centre 10ft away from existing thermostat, so ideal not to change location. Thanks for this.
    The young lad I spoke to from the supplier had completely confused the issue by telling us to "remove the link wire at the boiler for this thermostat", as we can all see from the wiring diagram that there is none,and otherwise pretty straight forward,with thanks again to yourself.
     
  14. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    43,839
    Thanks Received:
    2,770
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you actually want/need a wireless thermostat? If not, life would probably be much simpler for you if you stuck a 'wired' one (like you presumably had before).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  15. Rdl

    Rdl

    Joined:
    1 May 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many people build extensions to their homes or re organise them and dont want to go to additional upheavals of even more decorating due to re-positioning of the room stat, (Running new wiring).
    When I heard of the possibilities of fitting a remote one that I can also program better than the main controller,and hard wire instead of it running on battery power,it means you have more flexibility for the part of the house you are using most. The Salus 500 ROF also has an extra switch that you can put at the entry of the property giving you even more flexibility for saving energy during this economic climate. A good idea for many? I hope it works for me!
     
  16. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    43,839
    Thanks Received:
    2,770
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Indeed so, and a wireless one is probably often a good choice for that very reason. However, I'm probably wrong, but it was starting to almost sound as if, in your case, switching to wireless might result in more upheaval!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  17. Rdl

    Rdl

    Joined:
    1 May 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Glad to have sorted out the wiring John. Staying with the old stat may have been the best option. This is what is good about coming on here. You can get other peoples views and answers on problems.

    Until the next wiring drama!

    Robert.
     
  18. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page