chasing the walls after a rewire

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi im new to all this diy and would appreciate a step by step notes on how to fill in the chases from what brand of bonding to use. From reading the forms im a have a bit of an idea on what to do. I will be getting a plaster to rescim afterwards more like a week afterwards I have finished chasing the walls.
From reading is this whats required by bonding and fill the chases to flush then sand maybe use some sort of tape then resand?
Any help would be great
Thanks
Stuart

Sponsored Links
Hi Stu,

by the sounds of you are having the whole wall re-skimmed?

if so, wet down the chases and fill flush with thistle bonding coat, once it has set to a cheese like consistency, devil scratch the surface with horizontal lines (you can just use a nail, not too deep, 3mm)

when the plasterer comes to skim he'll need to wet down the bonding you have put in in order to control suction and he MIGHT apply so skrim tape along the edges before skimming.

if you aren't having whole wall skimmed then when bonding has gone cheesy, you need to 'cut-bacl' 3mm of bonding with your trowel, (scrape it out) so that you have room for some multi finish or easifill.

so i wet down the chase first then put the bonding nix in then when it goes cheesy run 3 lines down it (is this what you mean by devil). I will be needed to rescim a 7m by 4m room but will not be doing this myself will need to find a plasterer for this but thought id give the chasing a go.

Sponsored Links
just doing my bit when i have the chance AR! ;)

we've gotta keep this ship a sailing while the likes of Rich C are away, RC quiet this week too, busy working hopefully, though if he's having your weather :confused:

Stu

Horizontal lines across the chases not vertical, about an inch apart and 3mm deep.

the plasterer will do the rest mate