Chrome v. Firefox

JBR

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've been using Chrome as my browser for many years now and have found it to be excellent.
Just yesterday, however, it updated itself(!) and I found that the 'Bookmark' star has suddenly decided to include an option of 'Add to reading list'.
Only a little thing, I suppose, but it just adds another step to bookmarking a page which I really don't want. I couldn't find any means of removing that addition either, despite there being a few web sites which claim to do so, so I've begun to use Firefox now.
Just out of interest, do others have a preference for one or the other?

Sponsored Links
Ctrl+D to bookmark

Attachments

• Screenshot_20211020-210630_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20211020-210630_Chrome.jpg
    176 KB · Views: 86
Ctrl+D to bookmark
Thanks. That is, at least, a work around.
I'd still have preferred them to leave Chrome as it was, as I was used to it.
It isn't unusual for many such things to be 'improved' according to how their owners see things which, sadly, isn't always what their customers want!

I use Firefox at home and Chrome at work. Firefox is more privacy-focused, but it takes that too far and blocks so many components that some pages don't work without intervention. Firefox was my preference for many years until they disabled most of the add-ons I liked with FFX 57 / Quantum in 2017. Since then, I think it's lost its edge.
It isn't unusual for many such things to be 'improved' according to how their owners see things which, sadly, isn't always what their customers want!
Like when Chrome removed "undo close tab" from the context menu and I had to learn yet another shortcut.

Sponsored Links
Well, at least I have both Chrome and Firefox running now, so I can change from one to the other depending on how they each behave!
I suppose I could also give Edge a try.

Put this into the address bar:

chrome://flags/#read-later