Combination boiler in a four bedroom busy house.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, this is my first time in here so please forgive any bad protocol. :eek:
We have a large four bedroom Semi with four occupants.
We had the boiler replaced several years ago by a family friend plumber who said they knew what they were doing.
We had a standard boiler with cold and hot water tanks, one bathroom with a bath and shower, twelve radiators, a kitchen and downstairs loo/basin.
Unusually the hot tank was in the loft.
He disabled the hot tank and fitted the combi boiler, leaving the cold tank in the loft to feed the upstairs taps.
He told us we may need to replace the shower as the new system may not be compatible.
The shower seemed ok but was unpredictable.
A couple of years later we replaced the shower but it is still very unpredictable, that plumber disabled the cold tank and told us it should not have been left up there.
Testing the system and reading about combi boilers I am wondering if it is possible to have a shower without the pressure dropping and heat stopping altogether whenever any other tap in the house is used.
At present you have to get everyone to promise not to turn anything on if you want a shower.
I am wondering if a combi boiler is simply not appropriate for our house.
I asked someone from British Gas who said you can fit a hot tank to a combi boiler to hold hot water for showers but can't find anything online.
Does anyone have any useful thoughts to offer?
Is the only way to get a shower which stays hot while other people use taps to go back to having a standard boiler with hot tank?
How do people with en suite bathrooms cope?

Sponsored Links
Firstly, most combi's will only cope with a single point draw off of hot water. That won't change without some serious cash/reworking of your system. Here are some suggestions

Fit an electric shower