Commando socket installation.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I'm planning to get a data mining setup in my garage soon.

My plan is to branch off a 100a circuit board and install 3-4 commando (Blue) 32a sockets from their relative circuit breakers. I'll be looking to get 3-4 32a PDU's I've never used a PDU before but done lots of research on them and commando sockets. Does anyone know if it's a simple procedure (Like joining up normal domestic 13a sockets)? I won't be doing it but I will probably go through yellow pages to find a decent installer.

Thanks for reading :)

Last edited by a moderator:
Sponsored Links
Also I have a 100a service coming in and know that eash 32a should be under an 80% load .

Thanks

I'm not looking to do a 3 phase or anything, just about 12 - 14 miners

Sponsored Links
It depends, 800 or 1250 , however you can overclock them and that in turn consumes more power!!!
i'm thinking of getting 6 of the 800 and 6 of the 1250 but I don't want loads of sockets, thats why i thought of the commando idea so I can get some PDU strips.

That will be a 50A+ continuous load.

You will definitely need to contact your electricity supplier first, both to confirm you really do have a 100A supply and that the cabling to your house and the local network is capable of supplying such a load.

The fuseholder may say 100A but that doesn't mean it contains a 100A fuse, or that the cable to the property is suitable for 100A.
Electricity networks for domestic properties are not typically designed for high loads on all the time. They can supply large loads, but it is generally assumed that such things will be used for short periods.

Have you considered how the heat will be removed from the garage?

Hello and thanks, i wasn't aware of that. I have several windows , a few fans plus the aeration is great due to a metal roof and many gaps!