Complete Newbie requires some advice?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HI Everyone,

I've just registered as I undertook multiple google searches and this site came up as being the most informative and helpful site regarding DIY and in particular my source of worries. I am looking for some advice and will try and describe my problem however please be patient if I do not use the correct terminology.

I have a 1960's built 2 bed house in SE London and until this morning I was completely oblivious to the term Gravity Water systems. Connected to this is a Potterton Netaheat (electronic if I recall) and upstairs in the airing cupboard I have an Immersion heater while above that a cold water and expansion tank in the loft.

My wife is currently there overseeing some rennovation works and she's decided to replace the bath/sinks upstairs and the kitchen sink. Of course the builders are not familiar with the UK gravity system so I've researched and explained it this morning so they now know how to drain the tanks upstairs before replacing any taps/sinks, etc.

My wife has claimed that when turning on the hot water tap in the kitchen, the Potterton fires up. Can anyone confirm if this boiler can heat water off the mains and straight to this tap or does the kitchen hot water come down from the immersion heater?

Any help would be greatly appreciated....

Cheers,

Mike

Sponsored Links
Is this a real post? Looking forward to the replies.

Are you sure your builders know how to comply with UK Building Regs etc?

not being funny but I would be seriously worried about your question and your builders, I hope they are not the same ones that managed to flood a friends house and his neighbours house causing thousands of pounds worth of damage and guess what the plumber had no insurance :rolleyes:

Hi everyone (again),