Complete novice - bedroom

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey,

I`m a first year uni student, just got back for Easter so I got a month off :) As a Easter project I though I would redecorate my room, hasn`t been done for so many years I`ve really out grown it.

Never decorated a room before so thought now would be a good time to learn. Could get my Dad to help i guess but hes got loads of other things on and i cant be bothered to wait.

I`ve uploaded some pics so it`s easier for you to see what I mean. Click on the pics for larger images

Basically, I just want to paint my room one colour, at the moment it`s two, but separated by this awful rail.

So, I`ve removed a couple of pieces to see what`s behind. I remember the walls being wallpapered at a time, but it looks like the rail wasn`t removed when the wallpaper was ripped off so it`s made the wall not smooth.

I started to remove the paint as it`s just peeling off really easily...

I`m not sure if there is still paper there or I`m just peeling off paint, I think its paint as it`s quite easy to peel off

Also, there has always been a problem in this room with the walls having a weird cloudy look to them after some time, like when furniture is moved away from the wall, or posters are removed, anybody know what this is and how I can prevent it from happening when I paint the new colour?

Wiping it off seems to solve the problem, but then it just comes back.

So how can I make the wall smooth between the paint which seems to just peel off and the paper that was left behind? I think I have got a big job to do here :)

Thanks for you help,

Matt

[Edit: The forum doesnt accept ', replaced with `, ok now it is nevermind, was changing it to ’ before]

Sponsored Links