complete novice needs advice please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm attempting to sort out an old fire place. Im intending to tile the outer fire place (where it hasn't been plastered), leave the inner painted brick with something decorative in (vase/flowers/art etc. And intending to tile the hearth. Have dug out some old un-level concrete and tiles and am left with what you see in the picture.

I could do with some step by step advice please. Think I'm ok with the tiling the front/replacing the skirting etc. But need help with the hearth. currently it is just dirt and rubble that I have levelled (ish ) off. DO i just mix cement and lay it ontop of the dirt, level it, let it dry and then fix the tiles to that? DO i just level it with a traditional spirit level?

Any other tips/advice/ideas?

Many thanks in advance
Sam

Sponsored Links
Clean as much of the dirt and loose debris out as you can, give a sweep with dust pan and brush too.
Then build up timber form work (frame) for your hearth giving the dimension you wish and making sure the timbers are somewhere near level.
Damp down the area underneath to prevent too much suction.
Then pour a wet cast mix of concrete in to the form work.
Tamper down and should it find it's own level, remove any excess, leave to stiffen up, then trowel out any imperfection.
Let it set then remove form work.

Are you re-instating an open fire or installing a stove in there? If so, you can’t just lay some concrete down on top, Building Regs require a constructional hearth, size & thickness can be found here;
http://www.stovesonline.co.uk/stove-hearth-size.html

You should be aware that re-commissioning/rebuilding an open fire or installing a stove is notifyable building work & subject to several Building Regulations. Bear in mind that you could invalidate your house insurance if you cannot produce compliance certification in the event of a problem.