Concrete needed under suspended timber floor

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
We're about to start on a single storey rear extension which will have a suspended timber floor. I've read that (despite the rest of the house not having this) we will need to have concrete poured on the ground under the floor to stop weed growth, but it doesn't mention a thickness or whether some kind of DMP is required as well.

Is this right, and as a layman, I can't see why a weed fabric wouldn't suffice, or even nothing being as we don't have a weed problem anywhere else under the house, or any other house I've seen with a suspended timber floor for that matter.

I'm just wondering how much soil I might need to remove to allow this thickness of concrete and still maintain the minimum 150mm clearance between joists and ground.

Sponsored Links
If you don’t have a suspended floor in the rest of the house, why are you doing it here?

You will need ventilation in the air space and proper insulation anyway. Unless the builder is using a system to build the floor with a built in insulation, I’d be questioning if an insulated slab would work better ?

I may not have made myself clear; it's that the rest of the house doesn't have concrete poured under the suspended timber floor, but it does have a suspended timber floor.

Does the rest of the house have an insulated floor or is this a typical block and beam 1920s (etc) setup. There is no reason you can't duct the existing vents and go for a concrete insulated base.

Sponsored Links