Concrete over stone floor - Repair or rip out

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Evening all :cool:

I fancied a nice straight forward project in my house that I could do between now and going back to work in the new year. My entrance hall seemed like the obvious choice and I'm new to DIY [late bloomer] so ripping up the old carpet and putting down some new wood flooring plus a lick of paint seemed straight forward enough.

Underneath the carper were old ceramic tiles which weren't particularly level in places, and with the carpet removed there wouldn't have been much clearence between the door and the new floor. So up come the old tiles. I think they were held down with cement so it's been a fun day. Under the cement is concrete, under that seems to be a good old slab of Yorkshire stone, and under that is my cellar.

Around the edges some of the concrete has come up with the tiles, and I've chipped away at some off the loose stuff and brought that up too, but if I'm honest I don't think the cement is coming up without taking the concrete up with it. And it's only small but I'd like to avoid having to put down new concrete through fear of not being able to get it level or damaging the stone, but with that said if I leave the concrete in place I don't think it's going to be level anyway.

The flooring I'd like is engineered wood. And with this being my first project with more to come I'd like to try and get it as level as possible.

I've attached a few photos to show what I'm up against. Should I fill the gaps with concrete or something else, or rip up the lot and go back to the stone, and then attempt to try and put down new concrete?

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated please :D

IMG_20181230_145020.jpg IMG_20181230_190259.jpg IMG_20181230_191052.jpg IMG_20181230_190400.jpg

Sponsored Links