1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Conductor area for induction hob cable

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by Ant1, 21 Jun 2021.

  1. Ant1

    Ant1

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I need to replace the power cable of a Bosh Serie 4 induction hob (model PUE611BF1B).

    The flex cable that came with the unit has a standard UK plug (the unit can deliver up to 3.7Kw).

    I have some spare 2.5mm2 cable with solid core I could use which I know will be fine, however I would like to replace it with an identical flex cable.

    It looks like the original flex cable is a 1.5mm2 with 30 strands? Does this sound right to you?

    I thought that such a unit would use 2.5mm2. What do you think?

    Cheers,
    Ant

    PS: most of the cable has been cut off and lost, hence I only have access to a small portion of the cable left.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. AndyPRK

    AndyPRK

    Joined:
    4 Jan 2009
    Messages:
    5,744
    Thanks Received:
    576
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Is it 5 core ? Or 3 core
     
  4. Ant1

    Ant1

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3 core
     
  5. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,447
    Thanks Received:
    4,084
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    If it has a plug on it then that will be limited to the 13A of the fuse so 1.5mm² flex will suffice.

    It might be quite adequate - I don't know - but do you not have a 'cooker' circuit which would allow an unrestricted hob to be used?

    The specifications say the hob can be set to 16A, 13A or 10A so make sure it is set correctly.
    https://www.bosch-home.co.uk/produc...s=section-technicalspecs/Togglebox=962907526/
     
  6. Ant1

    Ant1

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well spotted, could I simply connect a 6mm2 3 core cable to the live/neutral/earth underneath the unit (as shown in the photo below) and then to a dual cooker connection unit?

    Note that my HOXC3UB3358BI oven is already connected to the cooker circuit.

    Bosh Induction Hob.jpg
     
  7. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,447
    Thanks Received:
    4,084
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, 4mm² flex will suffice (without argument) if there is a 30A fuse/32A MCB on the circuit.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. Ant1

    Ant1

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thank you, this is much appreciated.

    Last question if I may, the power connectors underneath the PUE611BF1B unit are labelled 1 to 5 (with Earth), it does not clearly identify which is the live versus neutral connection. Due to the installation guide not containing much details, I have to rely on the wires already being connected.

    Is this common for induction hobs to identify power connectors with a number rather than L or N?
     
  9. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,447
    Thanks Received:
    4,084
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    There should be instructions somewhere.

    Only if the numbers are identified somewhere.

    You will see that 4 and 5 - obviously Neutral - are connected by a brass link.
    upload_2021-6-21_23-37-12.png

    I can't see the L connectors very well. Is there similar on the other side.

    Another picture with the clamp out of the way?
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. Ant1

    Ant1

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I added a couple more photos below.

    This is weird, the user manual does not specify which connector is live versus neutral.
    There is also no such indication on the plastic flap/cover (both sides) which covers the power cable itself.

    Bosh Induction Hob 2.jpg Bosh Induction Hob 3.jpg
     
  12. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,447
    Thanks Received:
    4,084
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Ah, no links on the live side. I am sure there should be.
    You could wire it as it was and see if everything works.

    I see there are spare links which you might have to use.

    upload_2021-6-22_0-13-37.png

    If you haven't got any instructions, you will have to contact Bosch.
    I can't find anything on line.
     
  13. Ant1

    Ant1

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    36,447
    Thanks Received:
    4,084
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Right - from your link:

    upload_2021-6-22_12-33-1.png

    That's clear enough and as it was in your first picture.

    It makes no difference whether it is connected to a plug or the wall plate.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. Taylortwocities

    Taylortwocities

    Joined:
    28 Jul 2006
    Messages:
    20,292
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Forget using 6mm. You will never, in a million years, connect that to those small terminals. Designed to be plugged in so 1.5 or 2.5mm² heat resistant flex will be more than enough.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. Ant1

    Ant1

    Joined:
    4 Apr 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's perfect, thanks to all!
     
Loading...

Share This Page