Connecting Nest to zoned UFH/Rad zoned system....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
30 Jun 2017
Messages
214
Reaction score
11
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone first I will explain the system I am planning...

Boiler is an Ideal Vogue C32

Groundfloor -

UFH throughout split between 2 zones as follows

Z1) - Kitchen
Z2) - Living Room/Hall

Second Floor -

4 Radiators as follows

Z3) Second Floor Radiators

I am going to have 3 Nest (Gen3) thermostats running the show and wondered how to go about connecting them up.

Can I connect all 3 of the nest Heat Links directly to the boiler or will I need a control centre > Boiler?

Will I just need a single zone valve to feed the UFH manifold which will then be connected to the two UFH heatlinks then each of these heatlinks also connected to each ''zone'' actuator it needs to control?

I imagine for the radiators I can have the radiator Nest heatlink connected to a second zone valve that feeds the radiators.

As always any feedback is much appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,402
Reaction score
1,967
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
You will need a separate Nest Heatlink and Nest Thermostat for each of the three zones as you have figured, but the Heatlinks operate their respective zone valves. The zone control devices then operate the boiler, not the Heatlinks.
 
Last edited:
Joined
30 Jun 2017
Messages
214
Reaction score
11
Country
United Kingdom
You will need a separate Nest Heatlink and Nest Thermostat for each of the three zones as you have figured, but the Heatlinks operate their respective zone valves. The zone control devices then operate the boiler, not the Heatlinks.

Thankyou for the reply its much appreciated,

Does this mean in my case I will not require a control centre, it will go Heatlink > Zone valve+Actuator and the Zone valve will connect to the boiler.

So for instance in the UFH, the heatlink will open the actuator and tell the valve to also open, which will inturn call the boiler to fire up, if the 2nd zone in the ufh doesn't require heat its respective Heatlink will keep the actuator it controls closed.
 
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,402
Reaction score
1,967
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
It depends what you mean by 'wiring centre' some form of junction box(es) will be required to make the wiring connections. It will also depend on the method used to control each of the UFH zones, it can be a standard 2 port motorised valve, or some other type of specialised UFH controller. Personally, I haven't had any installation experience of the latter.

With standard two port valves, the Heatlink would be wired to operate the appropriate zone valve and the associated manifold pump. Inside each zone valve is a small microswitch that operates when the valve is fully open. This is wired to control the boiler. In the typical simplified diagram of a two zone installation below, the 'Stat' would be the 'Heatlink'

Capture.JPG
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
30 Jun 2017
Messages
214
Reaction score
11
Country
United Kingdom
It depends what you mean by 'wiring centre' some form of junction box(es) will be required to make the wiring connections. It will also depend on the method used to control each of the UFH zones, it can be a standard 2 port motorised valve, or some other type of specialised UFH controller. Personally, I haven't had any installation experience of the latter.

With standard two port valves, the Heatlink would be wired to operate the appropriate zone valve and the associated manifold pump. Inside each zone valve is a small microswitch that operates when the valve is fully open. This is wired to control the boiler. In the typical simplified diagram of a two zone installation below, the 'Stat' would be the 'Heatlink'

View attachment 138378


Thankyou again for your feedback.

I plan on using Honeywell 2 Port zone valves.

By ''wiring centre'' its just something that gets put into the spec when I get a quote for JG Speedfit UFH, I wasn't sure whether that was just for use when using their stats (which they also spec) and not when using Nest Stats, I wasn't sure if it was a requirement regardless which stat was to be used with zoned systems.

https://www.tradingdepot.co.uk/jg-speedfit-aura-230v-8-zone-wiring-centre-jgwc

My only other query would be do I need a 2port valve per UFH zone or will just one valve be controlled by both Nets connected to the UFH.
 
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,402
Reaction score
1,967
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Each Zone that has a Nest will also need a dedicated valve for the Nest to operate. The Nest will open the valve when heating to that zone is required, and close it when it's not required.
 
Joined
30 Jun 2017
Messages
214
Reaction score
11
Country
United Kingdom
Each Zone that has a Nest will also need a dedicated valve for the Nest to operate. The Nest will open the valve when heating to that zone is required, and close it when it's not required.

Ah I must have got mixed up with all the talk of zones. I was thinking each UFH loop was also classed as a zone whereas actually the whole UFH system as a whole is the zone, this is then split into ''loops'' rather than 'zones''

Turns out I will have 2 zones

1 Zone for radiators (run from Nest)
1 Zone for JG Speedfit UFH (2 separate loops, each ran from its own Nest)

Each of the above Zones will have a Honeywell 2 Port Zone Valve

The Nest Heatlinks will connect into a JG Speedfit Aura 230v 8 Zone Wiring Centre (don't seem to do one for fewer zones)

Fingers crossed I have everything worked out.
 
Joined
5 Aug 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
Hi I know this is a old thread but did you get the nests working okay with 2 stats on each ufh loop with the John guest wiring center & a nest on the rads? I’m looking to do a similar thing but with 4 nests on a heatmiser 8 zone 230v wiring center and one for the radiators, there’s not much info on this and heard people having trouble with the stats turning on the wrong zones/loops in the house
Thanks for any info :)
Warren
 
Joined
28 Oct 2005
Messages
13,795
Reaction score
3,369
Location
Daventry
Country
United Kingdom
heard people having trouble with the stats turning on the wrong zones/loops in the house
Thanks for any info :)
Warren
If that's happening then it hasn't been wired correctly - a simple case of installer error. Nest is just a switch at the end of the day. It turns a zone on, or off. The only way it can switch the wrong zone is if it's connected to the wrong zone.

I've done 5-zone 5-Nest systems before. It works provided your installer understands central heating wiring
 
Joined
5 Aug 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Country
United Kingdom
But the nest talks to the heatlink via Bluetooth/WiFi that’s why nest says to keep there heat links 30cm apart so I’m guessing people are saying there was interference causing the stat to turn on the wrong heatlink even with them apart, I’m just being over paranoid before I spend a lot of money on 5 nests but maybe it’s not so bad, may I ask what wiring center was used for the stats to control the ufh actuators if you know cheers?
 
Joined
20 Jul 2005
Messages
7,402
Reaction score
1,967
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
The 30cm separation is recommended to prevent anything blocking the thermostat signal so that it doesn't reach the Heat Link. If that were to happen the Heat Link wouldn't respond to the signal from the thermostat. But it won't cause a thermostat to operate a Heat Link that it is not paired with.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Sponsored Links
Top