Cooker and hob...1 feed or 2?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm looking to get a new cooker (4.4kw) and induction hob (7.2kw) installed. I have been advised I'll need 2 feeds, one for each. I'm happy if this is correct, however I'd like to double check this first as I've had conflicting advice. The appliances will be on a 32a RCD fuse. My calculations were:
(4400+7200)/240 =48.33A.
30% of 38.33=11.5
11.5+10=21.5A, plus 5A for socket on isolator switch. My total is therefore 26.5A.

I have also calculated them separately, getting 28.5A.

I'm not an electrician and I may have made a mistake in my calculations. I'm just after a little bit of clarity and to know which advise I've had is good.

Thanks in advance.
Phil

Sponsored Links
The calculation I found to use took 10a off the 48.3a I calculated (thus the 38.3), and than added it back in to get the 26.5a final value.

Thanks for checking my calculations.

Sponsored Links
(4400+7200)/240 =48.33A.
30% of 38.33=11.5
11.5+10=21.5A, plus 5A for socket on isolator switch. My total is therefore 26.5A.
Correct.

A standard cooker circuit - 32A - will be fine.

If it is new you don't have to have a socket on the switch, so even better

Correct.

A standard cooker circuit - 32A - will be fine.

If it is new you don't have to have a socket on the switch, so even better
Thanks. It will be a new feed....an extra socket always comes in handy for something

No, he correctly deducted the 10A first without telling us.
Sorry for the confusion.

Am I also correct in thinking you can have one isolating switch for both appliances? Thus having the feed from the FB into an isolator which then goes to a splitter to power each appliance separately. The isolator will be 1m from both appliances. Again I've had conflicting info. Thx.

Am I also correct in thinking you can have one isolating switch for both appliances?
Yes, my view is that is better for emergencies - although few and far between.