cooker tripping rcd when switched off

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
HI all

I see this has been partially covered before, but I have a different problem

When we first moved into our flat we were skint and were given a cooker with one faulty ring , which I removed the knob for and wired it in, now since the very first time we used it, it works fine but occasionally would trip the rcd when switching the main oven off, we got used to and put it down to the faulty ring.

Anyway we eventually bought another one much more modern all working perfectly Except this one also trips the rcd when switching off the main oven

Now I'm no electrician but I wired these in myself as having done a few over the years

I would live with it but it also knocks out all the sockets (except kitchen) and half the lights,

On the consumer unit if I switch off the other two mcbs that are on the same rcd circuit as the cooker it trips everytime immediately if switch the control knob on and off

Sorry its such a lot of info but is it likely to be a wiring problem or an appliance fault

Thanks
Scott[/list]

Sponsored Links
One guess would be that the transient (low pass) filter inside the RCD is not working properly.
The response time of this subcircuit is adjustable at the factory and other RCD makers may have made a different tradeoff with response time and safety.

I have heard of GFCIs doing the same thing. I guess the technical term would "transient rejection ratio" or something similar.

Does the RCD trip when you turn cooker off at appliance controls or at the isolator switch?
Have you tried disconnecting the cooker from the circuit, then trying the isolator switch?
May rule out some possibilities!
You may have been very unlucky and bought a faulty new appliance, which coincidently trips RCD as did old one !