copper pipe underfloor heating in concrete - not warming

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I hope someone can help me. I’m a newbie! Although I’ve been on here many times and found useful answers.

I have copper pipe under floor heating in my living room which covers approx 8 meter squared. This has been bare (no denso) in solid concrete and tiled over for more than 15 years and has worked perfectly until a few weeks ago. I took this as an opportunity to have my CH boiler upgraded as it was a very old inefficient boiler and had a new combination boiler fitted (Potterton Titanium 33E). The system was flushed, and I also had a magnetic sludge filter installed. So much crap came out! However the UFH is still not warming up.

The UFH is connected to a towel radiator via the flow and return. It is the last (or furthest radiator in the house from the boiler). Currently the towel radiator warms up very slightly but the warm water does not flow in the UFH (in the return).

I have tested by shutting off all other radiator valves throughout the house and just running the system on the UFH/ Towel radiator. This makes the towel radiator really hot but no change to the UFH!

So, my guess is that the UFH copper pipes has corroded somewhere and has undersized which is reducing the flow of the water?

Can anyone suggest or advise what else I could do to fix this please? I’m nearly at the point of ripping the whole thing out!

Many thanks for your help guys

Sponsored Links
Sounds like the underfloor circuit has been blocked by the crap flushed round the rest of the system. Can you get to both ends - flow and return - of this circuit, disconnect completely from the rest of the system and blast it through with mains pressure from a hosepipe perhaps?

It might need a bit of imaginative plumbing to achieve that but at least you will know if it is blocked or clear. Also has the system been properly balanced again after it was flushed through and the new boiler installed?