Cost of skirting - Jesus H Christ

Sponsored Links
Either 165 or 175mm depending on which room it came from.

Are you sure it's original? How grand is the house? ;) Even the 14 foot wide Terrace I used to own in York had 9" skirting. But I'm not an expert on skirting so I could be talking out of the wrong orifice.

You can get 7 inch torus skirting easily enough. Personally I might be tempted to fit something taller and nicer.

Cheers
Richard

Either 165 or 175mm depending on which room it came from.

Are you sure it's original? How grand is the house? ;) Even the 14 foot wide Terrace I used to own in York had 9" skirting. But I'm not an expert on skirting so I could be talking out of the wrong orifice.

You can get 7 inch torus skirting easily enough. Personally I might be tempted to fit something taller and nicer.

Cheers
Richard

Went to 2 merchants, neither had anything resembling it. The torus they stocked was much more pronounced than this.

Anyway, I went to one which has a profiling facility, the chap said it would be £100 just to set up the machine + all sorts of other costs, and of course the timber.

I'm honestly not sure that it's original, it shouldn't be anything special anyway, but it does look to be hardwood and in places the knocking block on the back attached on one or two sections that came off which lead me to believe they are.

So I've a few options here. I've looked at online outlets :

http://mdfskirtingworld.co.uk/epage...www_mdfskirtingworld_co_uk/Categories/Service

Has anyone tried these people ???

Before I do anything else I should work out exactly how much I'm going to need and what I can salvage, so that's the next job

What skirting how you choose out of interest ?

Sponsored Links
For what it's worth, the photo of the end grain looks like the ordinary softwood that was used from Victorian times pretty well up to WWII. That's only from what can be seen though, I might be wrong.