cracks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello, i am a keen amateur plasterer/diyer and have plastered alot of my house, i had my lounge plastered about 4 months ago by a pro , he only done one coat put the finish was very nice. he also used board finish on concrete walls?

i have noticed some hairline cracks appearing , now i have had a few hairline cracks with my plastering but i didn't expect any from a pro plasterer.

how do i make good these cracks, can i calk them and paint over???
advise needed thanks

Sponsored Links
You could use easifill/jointing compound to fill cracks and then sand down.
I have heard of people caulking them but never done it myself, much prefer to spread easifill on to them.

When you say "one coat", do you mean "one coat plaster", or one coat of plaster?. If you mean one coat of plaster, then i'm surprised to hear that a "pro" would do that, but if you're pleased with the finished result, then that's what counts,,, but it would have been even better with 2 coats.

Board finish onto concrete walls?? maybe you could could elaborate a bit on that,,, the concrete walls i mean,,, poured concrete walls? concrete block walls? Smooth concrete, rough?

The cracks that have appeared in your work and his,, tell us about them,, are they over the windows/lintels, down the corners? vertical,, horizontal? spidery? Are any of the walls plasterboard, untaped joints etc,,, sorry for asking all the questions,,,, maybe i'm just getting my own back. :LOL:

Sponsored Links