Curious about wood floor expansion in practice

Thanks JobAndKnock for your responses. My apologies if you think I am criticising your advice, that's not my intention. You clearly have a lot of experience in this area and your posts are very knowledgable.

At no point have I suggested that wood doesn't expand or contract, or questioned the degree to which is does under different circumstances. In fact I thought I had made that clear by giving the example of my outside door which expands and contracts every year. I'm also not having this discussion in the context of what you or other professionals should do, or what should be done in other houses, I am talking about what I do in my own home, and like I always do, I am trying to understand a little deeper why I am doing things, rather than blindly following standard guidelines that are intended for worst possible scenarios. I may not be a joiner but I am an engineer, so I understand a fair bit about materials and structures in general so your suggestion that I am ignorant of the issues is way off.

When you do a job you have to consider the fact that you don't know whether the customer will have an heat recovery unit that keeps the house at a constant humidity and temp, or if they will paint all the windows shut and keep the doors open when having a shower. I get that. I'm not challenging that. I am trying to think through the issues as they apply specifically to my own home. There are a lot of things you can get away with when working on your own house, or make choices on, that would be risky for a professional. Likewise a manufacturer has to specify in ways that reduce their liability to comeback. I could make a choice to fit wood flooring in a bathroom because I know we don't tend to use the bath in that room and there is always low humidity, you probably couldn't recommend that because you don't know that the customer won't be splashing water all over the room.