Damp and Mould, Internal ceiling extractor fan into loft, safe?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,
New to this forum, just wanted to ask some advice on a ceiling extractor fan into the loft at the top of the stairs.
Private rented property. This was installed some time ago, maybe a year, or just over. Long story short, the house is a s^*! hole and the estate are a nightmare to deal with.
The question I have though is as follows: Are these loft extractor fans safe to use if the loft insulation is exposed and not boarded properly? I only ask, as I'm a welder and have no knowledge on this stuff, but surely if it's circulating the naff, damp rancid air up in the loft - which also has a rubbish leaking roof - would it not be bad bringing that into the house? There is always a cold draft coming from there as it's constantly running, I can't see how it would stop micro particles of insulation and damp getting through, unless it had a decent filter in it, which I'd assume if it did would need replacing regularly?
Any, not my forte, so any help or advice greatly appreciated. Long history with the landlords, I am still fighting them to sort out some black mould in my bedroom, which has been going on for 3 years no. Two asthmatic individuals in the house, everyone coughs and splutters, history of mould and damp, none of which is helping any of us. Hence why I ask if it's safe.
Thanks all
James

Sponsored Links
Any extractor fan should be ducted to the outside or it’s pointless . Mold is a result of poor or no ventilation.Unless you dry clothes indoors in which case it would be your fault.

So this is a fan pumping air FROM the loft TO the hallway, right?