Deck Job

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’m a complete novice at DIY and have taken on a bit of a largish deck job at the rear of my property. I moved most of the existing concreted patio and the deck frame is now larger than the concrete patio was. Deck frame is 50x150mm pressure treated timber. I’ve kept a partial amount of the previous patio to hold up the frame and the remaining three sides I’ve put 50mm concrete paving slabs at intervals of every 1.5m. My question is as it was meant to be a ground deck and then subsequently has turned into a low level deck should I have put posts in between to hold up the structure more? After realising my mistake I’ve put more concrete paving slabs under but not secured in by any means. Have a look at the pictures and all feedback is welcome.

Thanks, Rick

Attachments

• 162BE208-3C4F-42ED-B069-81BFF00C6F4A.jpeg
    162BE208-3C4F-42ED-B069-81BFF00C6F4A.jpeg
    485.9 KB · Views: 297
  • B140EB51-79F9-4B5A-955F-6ACBE7092FAD.jpeg
    B140EB51-79F9-4B5A-955F-6ACBE7092FAD.jpeg
    499.8 KB · Views: 268
  • 4A587500-12D6-40E1-BF65-6E5834D64610.jpeg
    4A587500-12D6-40E1-BF65-6E5834D64610.jpeg
    531.3 KB · Views: 274
Sponsored Links
Im hoping to lay timbertech composite decking, and also the square space that looks like it’s not been filled yet is going to be a inspection hatch for a man hole cover :)

Hi Rick, I have just completed a decking which ended up raised as the garden slopes. My only concern would be that over time the slabs may sink if they are just laid on was was the lawn also have you made sure water will run away from the house? Looks like you are higher than the dpc.