Descaling Worcester 240RSF DHW

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Following on from a previous topic.

I have replaced the diverter valve in my 240RSF, as rads were getting hot whilst hot water demanded, and water from taps only getting luke warm. This did not resolve the issue, and now with advice from you guys I suspect the DHW is scaled up forcing the flow to open the shutter in the diverter valve and heat the central heating instead (as diverter is only flow driven, not motorised).

I want to attempt to descale the DHW without removal (if poss) but am worried that if the diverter valve is not operating properly because of the scale how will the descaler e.g. DS40 get to circulate the DHW to work its magic?

Sponsored Links
Look, first of all congratulations on your demonstarted efforts and comprehension so far.

I am not an expert on this, actually I had a mind to talk to Tony off line and ask what his method is.

I'm finding my way in this trade. My mentor never descaled a heat exchanger in his life to my knowledge with 30 years in the trade and he's a good repair man.

Another guy/mate who was chief fitter for GAs fire place many years and is now irgi says you put your power flush on cold and hot pipes to and fro boiler and reverse direction many times, whilst using a suitable chemical. I am not sure that reverse flow is advisable on all dv's, can anyone help with this?

Isn't that heat ex a white cylinder? That's one good thing, not a plate one with 5 year obsolescence built in. I beileve they first appeared with a 5 year guarantee but when they found themselves changing them every year they went quiet about guarantees. That's how my Mentor put it, he had some choice ANglo Saxon descriptive expressions to say about plate heat exchaangers, but now they are here to stay, lucky you you don't have one. AFAIK only reason to have one is probably mss manufacturing yields cheap product and small product so boiler fits better in kitchen cupboard.