Discharge through tundish when water heating's on

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Noticed yesterday when water heating was boosted that there was water trickling through the tundish - we have a megaflo-type setup and pressure gauge remains at the 3 bar mark as before.

I'm no expert, but I gather water coming through the tundish indicates a problem that needs attention - what are the likely causes though: water too hot (presumably thermostat faulty or wrongly set?); or perhaps faulty TPRV?

We did have a problem with noise on the hot taps that we suspected might be the TPRV - a plumber came and fiddled with it and the bassoon noise stopped so all seemed sorted, but I wonder if there's a fault with the valve set??

Sponsored Links
You need a plumber who holds a G3 qualification to work on this, for your own safety.

There is a process you are allowed to do yourself on the megaflow which might fix your problem. Have a look for a label stuck to the cylinder expłaining how to do this.

If you have no success then as said by Gav. You need to call a plumber qualified to work on them

Sponsored Links
Have put in a call to a plumber. Definitely wouldn't be trying to do this myself - i just don't understand half the mass of stuff in the tank cupboard - but hoped to get some pointers as to what might be wrong.

Previous house had warm air heating (brilliant: instant warmth, no bleeding rads or leaks or any of the other endless hassles of a traditional wet rads setup) and completely separate cylinder for hot water heated by a big immersion heater (not as expensive to run as you'd think, and every 2 years the immersion went pop but you just unscrew it and pop in a new one. Simples!). Really missing that house right now. Just about had it with megaflos and rads and boilers and whatnot. Sorry just needed to "vent"!

DIYnot Local

Staff member