Do I have condensation in my loft or is my roof leaking???

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
last week I discovered that the roofing felt in my loft had droplets of water all over it and the water was dripping down onto my stored belongings. The water was basically all over the felt across the roof and not in one confined area. At first I thought my roof was leaking but someone told me it was most likely condensation due to inadequate ventilation in the loft area. Since then, I have gone around with old towels trying to soak up the water and have been leaving the loft door open with a large fan running for several hours in the loft.
Today, exactly a week after I first noticed this I am finding that the felt is still very wet to the touch and once again droplets of water are forming, I am a complete novice but when I feel the flt it does feel saturated with water and Im now wondering if this is condensation at all or do I have a leak??? Surely, the the roofing felt is lined with bitumen which is impervious to water and accordingly would not allow any water sitting roof side to penetrate down????
Can anyone give me some sdvice on this as I am bginning to get worried that I need a new roof or something. My house is around 25 year old with a pitched,tiled roof.

Many Thanks

Sponsored Links
Definitely don't leave the loft hatch open, that will just let the moist air into the loft and the fan will just blow it around - it's not a dehumidifier.

Ok, so I should let the fan run but close the loft hatch door whilst its running??
After reading other posts about similar problems I have found that I had 3 downlights loosely fitted into the bathroom which I guess could have caused steam to rise into the loftspace, so I have sealed these. My loft insulation is very old and thin, would replacing this be an answer?

Sponsored Links
I had 3 downlights loosely fitted into the bathroom which I guess could have caused steam to rise into the loftspace