Do I need a structural engineer?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I’ve got an architect drawing up some plans for a rear single storey extension and an extension to existing dormers. I’m a novice at house renovations and don’t know if I also need a structural engineer?

I’ve tried to do some research on the internet but am getting conflicting information. Some people think the architects drawings will be good enough for the builder to work from but I may need a SE to do the calcs before a builder can quote for the work. Some people say that a SE is needed to do more detailed drawings for the builder to work from. Some people say I need SE calcs for building regulations.

Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
If the architect cannot answer these questions, then I would have grave concerns about their competency.

On ours the architectural technician (bell end) drew the plans and the more detailed building regs drawings, then the SE (great guy) calculated the steel and timber sizes that were on the drawings.

Who ever is drawing the plans should either do it or arrange someone more competent to do the structural design.

Either way they should be telling you.

If they have not explained things already, then I would be concerned.

Sponsored Links
If there are parts of the build that require structural elements, usually steel beams, then you need a structural engineer to calculate. Extending a dormer sounds like something thst might need calcs.

A builder normally quotes from building regulation drawings -which may have structural engineers details incorporated.

Have you asked your architect ?
The builder should be able to build from the architect's drawings if you are paying them to obtain building regulations approval
(that is what they are for !).