1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Door sensor question

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by CortinaV8, 6 May 2009.

  1. CortinaV8

    CortinaV8

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a 4 core wire going to a door sensor in my dining room, to get there it passes by the kitchen.

    What I would like to do is fit a door sensor to the rear door of the kitchen.

    Am I able to split off the existing wire that goes to the lounge or not?

    I'm not 100% sure if i would work, as one magnet would be open and the other one closed (assuming the crooks didnt break into both doors at exactly the same time :LOL: )

    Just looking for a bit of clarification.

    In an ideal world i would run a new cable, however it would prove extremely difficult.
     
  2. whiskers

    whiskers

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Each sensor should be connected to it's own zone. Assuming you have 2 zones available then you need a pair of wires for each door.

    If you only have one zone then the door contacts will need to be in series. The contacts are closed when the doors are shut and either door will trigger an alarm. If necessary you can make the series connection at the control box if the wiring is difficult.
     
  3. Sponsored Links
  4. CortinaV8

    CortinaV8

    Joined:
    30 Sep 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If they can be wired in series I will do that.

    I upgraded the alarm when I moved into this house, however re-used some of the existing cables that were tricky to replace. I used 8 core, the older stuff is only 4 core which is whats causing the problems for me.
     
  5. whiskers

    whiskers

    Joined:
    29 Apr 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Best of luck. I always check out the sensors before wiring to the control box. A meter with an electronic buzzer or a ohm meter will tell you if the contacts are working correctly eg when either door is opened indication at the control panel end says Open. If you don't have a meter try to borrow one. Do not use a lamp as the current could damage the reed switch in the door unit.
     
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  7. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page