Double sealed manhole - Water company permission

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Does anyone have any experience with Thames Water? Do they ever allow in any circumstances a double sealed manhole with internal access or is it just a big fat no?

Two rodding access points outside

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I've not had any dealings that far south, but in 38 years of consulting with water Co's it has never once been accepted.
Is it definitely a public sewer?

I've not had any dealings that far south, but in 38 years of consulting with water Co's it has never once been accepted.
Is it definitely a public sewer?

Thanks @frutbunn I did a quick pic of existing, (Im no expert so I hope it makes sense). The new extension would come from back of house, so MH1 will stay in situ outside, MH2 will move and MH3 would be inside with a doubleseal (MH serves the rightside bathroom and utility). As it's shared with the neighbour I gather that means it's public.

The previous owner concreted everything in, so I would need to dig up my daughters room, utility and bathroom to move MH3.

Untitled-6.jpg

All of my projects come under TW and based on the information you have provided, they would not accept any internal manholes. Where does the drainage go once it has left MH3, in a straight line to another neighbour?

Sponsored Links
All of my projects come under TW and based on the information you have provided, they would not accept any internal manholes. Where does the drainage go once it has left MH3, in a straight line to another neighbour?

Thanks. M3 then goes under the house, out to the front garden drain and then the main public sewer. Its only shared with one house.

Its a public sewer, so you will not be allowed to build over the IC's. Subject to certain criteria you can build over the line of the sewer, but this will inevitably mean moving the IC's, although this may not be practical in your circumstances.