1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Double socket from light in garage?

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by sbaldrick, 20 Nov 2020.

  1. sbaldrick

    sbaldrick

    Joined:
    10 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I need an extra double socket in my garage, the wire for an outside light is right next to where I want the double socket. If there is a neutral can I take a spur from the lighting wire though an FCU and to a double socket?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. terryplumb

    terryplumb

    Joined:
    8 May 2017
    Messages:
    5,098
    Thanks Received:
    1,038
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why not add a socket to the existing socket circuit ,that would be the obvious thing to do.
     
  4. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,251
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No point in a FCU on a lighting circuit.
    But apart from that putting a double socket on a garage lighting circuit would be foolish. Think what would happen on a dark evening when you started up your drill, grinder or whatever.
     
  5. sbaldrick

    sbaldrick

    Joined:
    10 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It would indeed be foolish but as I said in my original post the wire is to an outside light and is not part of the garage circuit.

    The reason I thought of taking it from the outside light as it is right next to where I want socket. I can run it from the other garage socket but that is on the other side of the room. If that is the only option I will do it but wanted to save a little on trunking and wire if I could.

    If that is not possible is it just a case of Running the trunking and 2.5mm around from the other double socket and connect with a FCU? Thanks
     
  6. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    34,570
    Thanks Received:
    3,830
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    What does that mean? Where is it?
     
  7. sbaldrick

    sbaldrick

    Joined:
    10 Apr 2019
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep. Dumb reply.....

    So run the wire and trunking around the garage and connect to double socket with FCU?
     
  8. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    6,251
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You don't need an FCU. What ever you plug into the new socket will have fuses in the plugs.
     
  9. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page