spur advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi there,

I have a 300w Outdoor PIR security light i want to fit on the outside wall in our back garden. But i need a bit of advice on the wiring just to be sure i know what im doing is right!

In our garage is a single socket which is spurred off a socket in our hall.

My idea is to replace the single socket in our garage to a 13A FCU and wire a double socket from the FCU for garage use and also wire the outdoor light from the FCU aswell.

Is it ok to have a separate wire from the FCU for the double socket in the garage and another separate wire from the FCU to power the outdoor light also.

Many Thanks
James

Sponsored Links
Make sure the socket in the hall is off the ring main as you may know you need the FCU before the spur begins...

You're basically creating a radial circuit but someone with a bit more knowledge can answer your question though, I'm still learning! :LOL:

Is it ok to have a separate wire from the FCU for the double socket in the garage and another separate wire from the FCU to power the outdoor light also.

Yes, but you'll be restricting the current you can take from your garage socket to 13 amps - less if the light is on. :( :( :( If it was mine, I'd want the outside light on a switched FCU with neon straight off the ring and inside the house where I could see it. :) :) :)

Thanks, yes my first thought was to wire the outside light directly from a main ring socket but there are no sockets close by to do it so my only option is the garage as that is the nearest power supply.

Instead of using an FCU spurred from a main ring socket, is it possible to have a junction box spurred from a main ring socket and then have a separate wire from the junction box for the double socket i require and another separate wire for the outside light?

Cheers!
James

Sponsored Links