Dowels

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hey,

Can you buy proper dowels in long lengths and bigger diameters? I just made a rustic bench out of some scrap sleepers and ended up making 100mm (square) dowels, with 50mm going into each piece. That meant making 50mm deep square holes!

Great little project to practice fine chisel work. Don't think 8mm x 40mm dowels would have done the job keeping the legs on. I didn't have enough length on the scraps for legs to make a proper tenon.

This is the closest I could find, but it's not slitted like dowels so no escape for excess glue: http://www.homebase.co.uk/en/homeba...dowel-decorative-moulding---35-x-240cm-148038

I am a hobbyist, so don't have a router or anything like that!

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
As you are a hobbyist... What about broom handles and gorilla glue?
You wouldn't need routed sides then.

Or perhaps angle grind the route lines, if you don't want smooth dowels

Can you buy proper dowels in long lengths and bigger diameters? I just made a rustic bench out of some scrap sleepers and ended up making 100mm (square) dowels, with 50mm going into each piece. That meant making 50mm deep square holes!