Downstairs Floor Replacement

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, i'm after a bit of input/advice on replacing my living room floor. I'm an engineer by trade and although not a builder or carpenter my building and carpentry skills are pretty good. I will tell you the plan I have and I would appreciate any comments you guys can give me.

The property is a 1930's ex local authority semi. The living room floor had some quite considerable wood worm and 4 of the floor joists were identified by a surveyor as being quite badly infested and replacement was recomended.

The living room has 12 joist spans at 40mm centres, the room is 3955mm wide in the direction of the joists with a sub-floor wall supporting the joists which is 200mm from the outside wall. The joists are 2 x 4.5 inches. Of the 12 joists 2 are supporting walls above and are not heavily infested. 2 additional spans are actually 4 joists, 2 at each side of the chimney breast, these have very little if any infestation. The joists are built in to the outside walls with no method of removing by sliding out.

My intention is to cut out the 8 existing joists in the main floor area and replace in turn with 47 x 125mm C24 timber with two joists meeting on the subfloor wall for each existing span and sistered at that point with a short piece using 4 M12 BZP coach bolts. The timber will be notched at the wall and ends down to 4.5 inch to suit the existing openings. I intend to use DPM on the wall ends also.

Two of the joists partially supporting walls have more severe rot towards one end, my intention here was to cut out the rotten/infested parts, notch out the brickwork at the side to provide an additional joist slot and sister a length of joist to the side past the rotten sections with M12 bolts at 200mm centres.