Drain Build Over Agreement

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Guys I am really stressed hope somebody can advise.

I was a newbie in building and In covid started building work 6 meter extension all approved by build regs etc. There was a shared manhole being stressed no one mentioned i needed a build over agreement till work finished. During the process the independent builder said I didn't need a build over agreement, I did ring up Water company they couldn't see a drain at the back of my property, so I proceeded . (I think there is also a main sewer line within few meters from new build.) Also on the architect plan it shows existing drain.

Everything has been passed by the Building Regs. and I have a certificate. However I am worried I might get a letter from water company? what shall I do remain quite? If the house next door start building work I guess they will get a Build over certificate for their drains and move thiers, will this affect me??

I am aware of indemnity insurance? There is access for for Thames Water to my property and access to a drain if there is a blockage.

Appreciate all replies.

Sponsored Links
Yes, keep quite quiet.
thanks Woody. Shall I take out indemnity insurance only £130 pounds for 100k worst case scenario. Woody what if next door decide to get a water agreement won't flag anything for me will it?

thanks for your reply.

Can you get indemnity insurance for this? You can't normally get insurance to cover you own unlawful actions, and indemnity cover is for a different situation.

The key thing is whether the work you have done would or would not be acceptable to the Water Authority. Normally that means foundations deep enough and bridging the drain. This would normally have been overseen by building control regardless of any build over agreement.

So, if the work done would be acceptable, all the Water Authority could do is request a retrospective application.