Drainage System for Flooding On Drive Way

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I have bought a drain gulley & pipe (with converter of course due to the pipe size!)
(See below images)
This is to sort out the flooding on my drive whicgh is causing a nightmare!
Can anyone reccomend anything to help this be most effective as i've never done underground drainage before... :rolleyes:
The gate in the top right of the image leads to a walkway down the side of the house, and approx 10m away there is a foul sewer manhole with an already existing storm water pipe going into it from my gutter at the back (installed by the previous owner)

Any advice (or better ideas) would be great!

View media item 71217 View media item 71218 View media item 71219

Sponsored Links
I would be inclined to raise the back of the driveway a little and pull a straight grade down to the top of the channel at the front edge and let the water find its way from there.I would imagine given its position that this was the channels original purpose and the driveway has compacted slightly at either side with use. That said im not sure of any rules and regs for discharging surface water?

What you pictured is not a gulley but merely a gulley top you need a bottle gulley.

Also have you measured whether you have enough fall to get to the discharge.

have a read of the paving expert website where they have a drainage section then come back with any specific queries.

Sponsored Links
In terms of fall, you just need to ensure that the pipe will be sloping in the correct direction along the length of the pipe. this will ensure the pipe will empty and the water will flow away from the surface.

A typical fall of 1 in 100 should be sufficient as a minimum, so you are looking at a minimum 100mm drop over the 10m, if you can do more than that, great.

This will stop any build up of debris from dirt leaves etc from blocking the pipe.

What do you plan on doing?