Drop-down Desk using support beams and a pulley system?

Reaction score
Country
United States
Hey guys. First off, im a complete newbie at this, but ive got a creative mind.
Reasoms: I know some of you will assume this to be tacky or stupid. I would enjoy learning and expanding my knowledge of building, through this. Additionally, my rooms too small to add on yet another piece of furniture. I find my couch which leans up against a wall to be much more comfortable than a bed seemed to be.

My idea: My attic is right above my room.
I'm thinking of installing support beams(2?) in the attic, then drilling 4 circular holes through the ceiling, in the shape of a rectangle. (two vertical on each short side)
This would allow four reinforced ropes, attached to the beams, (specifically it's metal with a plastic coating, generally used on workout systems) to drop down through the holes, and be attached to a rectangular wooden platform, which will namely be my desk. I'm figuring that the support beams will structure it enough to give it a flat,even surface. The "desk" will rest about 6" from the couch cushions. (enough room for me to sit and work without being restricted)

My idea: I want to be able to raise and lower the "desk", either by just lifting it or using a pulley/crank system to lift it up to the ceiling. It will NOT raise into the attic. Attic is for purely supporting the desk. I, obviously don't want the reinforced rope to give way and fall on top of me, as i'll be sleeping directly under it.

My questions: How would i apply this pulley system? I had ideas for a crank system, but where would i put that? Would the support beams literally support the wooden platform? At most it'd be my laptop (maybe a desktop?), work papers, cups, etc.

Basically, it'd be a "elevator" type system, where i could raise and lower the "desk/wooden platform" to fit my needs during the day.

Looking for suggestions/comments/other ideas?
Thanks.

Skae Rose

Sponsored Links
Skae