Dry Lining Conservatory wit Fermacell?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am looking to dryline our conservatory using Fermacell (I can't plaster) fitted to timber studwork.

As I've never done this before, I would be very grateful of any advice that can be provided on installing the timber studwork or any experiences with Fermacell.

Some basic questions I have...so that I can board around the kitchen window frame which protudes into the conservatory by around 40mm, what would be the best size timber batons to use?

Would fixing batons about 600mm apart be acceptable?

Given the size of the batons needed, what size screws and at what centres would I need to fix the batons. Would it be better to fix the screws into the actual brickwork for strength, rather than the mortar?

Any views on what type and width of Fermacell board would also be appreciated.

Sorry for the very basic nature of the above but any help would be great.

Many thanks,

Damian[/list]

Sponsored Links
hello mate, just to give you some ideas (i have never used fermacell) but have batonned out an entire house. The way i did it was by using roofing or slate lath which is an inch thick my advice would be:

Construct a frame from the lath, i made them 1200 wide with 4 battons screwed at 400 centres,it is important to make sure these are square afterwards. Make as many frames as you need and then make smaller ones to go on the end of the run. the reason i made frames as opposed to fixing individual battons on the wall is because frames are easier to level up and line through. although it depends if you want your wall level and lined through.

cut yourself some wedges or buy some. get yourself a good quality minimum 5 foot level.