Dryer Vent Through 2' Stone Wall

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'd like to install a washer/dryer, which means knocking a hole through the wall - which is about 2 foot thick, made of hamstone (a limestone). I've never done any substantial drilling before and would be grateful for any advice. Should I worry about a void in the middle of the wall? Are there different options? Hiring a heavy-duty diamond drill from HSS looks pretty expensive.

Thanks,
Adam

Sponsored Links
Thanks, I've read things on this forum saying that condensing dryers aren't that great and still let moisture into the room. (The house is prone to damp which is the reason I want a dryer.)

Maybe, I don't know, but it's not something you use all day every day. Just open the window in the room it's in and shut the door when it's on.

(The house is prone to damp which is the reason I want a dryer.)

A washer dryer will not remedy a house prone to damp. If you are referring to drying clothes on radiators then you are causing the damp, the house isn't prone to it.

Sponsored Links
condenser dryers not only perform much more poorly but are also more susceptible to probolems in my experience but 2ft is a lot of stone

heres an idea. is the wall solid.....or cavity.....you can buy a long masonary drill bit and "stitch drill" a hole. by this i mean take your drill and drill a hole the size you need one drill hole at a time....lime stone isnt that hard to drill through but it will still take a while.

So if you need a hole 180mm in diameter you would start by drawing your hole then drill a hole at 12 oclock then one at 1 oclock then on at 2 oclock and so on. If your wall is a cavity wall it will be a little easier to do.

Once your holes are drilled you can drill in between and in the circle then have a bash with a hammer.

I reckon you would be better buying or hiring a diamond core drill and extension pieces along with a slow high torque drill.