Economy Time Switch Removal

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Apologises for the repost of this message - this is my first time to such a forum.

I have a house which appears to have had economy 7 at one time but now has Gas heating instead. The electrical distribution panel looks a bit of a mess with 2 old fuse boxes with real fuses and an old economy 7 mechanical time switch.

I would like to replace with MCB's and also remove the rattly monster switch as it currently does not switch on any heaters, and takes up space

My electricity meter (a Siemens S2AS 100) has a the usual L and N in and L and N out. It also has a single wire that goes to the Economy 7 switch. I am worried that this wire signals to the meter that the economy period is reached and that the metering rate should change. I would be surprised if this was the case as the meter is digital and timewise should have a more accurate clock than the mechanical unit.

Obviously if this the time switch changes the rate over then I cannot remove the switch as I will be stuck on one rate which would either work out very expensive or illegal (and thus expensive).

Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
you should really consult your elctricity supplier, it is they who control it.

you can not legaly touch the meter since it is not your property, and is also dangerous for you to do so

Welcome to the forums :)

Hi Breezer,

I was not looking to touch the meter, only the timeswitch. I guess this is theirs also.

I know you probably shouldn't tell me but do you know if the meter changes rate on it's own or does it take the lead from the time switch?

Cheers

setups with a two rate meter and a seperate timeswitch controlling it are quite common

so the timeswitch would need to stay even if the night CU was removed

Sponsored Links
the time switch is also not yours, so you cant touch that either :cry: as i said call the supply co

As above.